Diaper Dude

Now, many of you may have been curious about my attempt to incorporate cloth diapers into my baby routine.  Once Zed’s belly button cleared up, I was ready to go. The first attempt was not so great, as I didn’t realize that I needed a diaper pant to cover the cloth diaper. The second attempt was a THOUSAND times better, since THAT diaper had a cover built in. No leakage. All awesome.  So, I am all on board with the cloth diapers. Yesterday, I picked up a few diaper covers and now I’ll be able to use the other type of diapers without any problem.  So, cloth diapers: 1, disposable diapers: 0.

The Boy seems to be doing somewhat okay with the addition of Zed. There are a couple things that I have to remember when he has a melt down or gets all hyper: 1) The Boy is three years old. He probably would behave that way regardless of who did or didn’t join his family and 2) He DOES have to deal with a new addition to his family. Grown adults have a hard time with gaining AND losing family members. DH and I just have to remember to give The Boy all the attention that we can and I personally have to remember to not focus all my attention on Zed.

So, how IS Baby Zed doing? We went to the midwives’ clinic last week and he now weighs 10 lbs. 5 oz. Which is a pretty amazing gain for only two weeks.  He doesn’t look that big to me, but when I dropped by the office yesterday to see Auntie Bella, she thought that Zed had grown a whole lot. I guess it’s like that old adage, “A watched newborn, never grows…”

Zed’s a really good baby. I was afraid that he’d be the opposite of his brother, but he’s been pretty much the same. If anything, he’s easier, since I now have half a clue about what I’m doing.  Today, I’m actually able to write on the blog since The Boy is at daycare for one of his two daycare days and I’m home with Zed. Yesterday, I got the car for the day and Zed and I went out for a day on the town. I was like a madwoman – driving around the city, binging on the car.

Speaking of binging, as of last Saturday, I joined back up with the Weight Watchers.  It’s a weird situation where I need to get back on the wagon, except, because I’m nursing, I get a boatload of points and it hasn’t really changed how much I’m eating in a day. But it looks like I’ve already lost at least 3 pounds so far, so I’m off to a good start.

The other thing that I started this week was signing up for “Roots of Empathy.” ROE is a program the brings young babies (2-4 months, at first) to school classrooms and teaches students about babies and, of course, empathy for others. As the website states:

“At the heart of the program are a neighbourhood infant and parent who visit the classroom every three weeks over the school year. A trained ROE Instructor coaches students to observe the baby’s development and to label the baby’s feelings. In this experiential learning, the baby is the “Teacher” and a lever, which the instructor uses to help children identify and reflect on their own feelings and the feelings of others…They are more competent in understanding their own feelings and the feelings of others (empathy) and are therefore less likely to physically, psychologically and emotionally hurt each other through bullying and other cruelties. In the ROE program children learn how to challenge cruelty and injustice. Messages of social inclusion and activities that are consensus building contribute to a culture of caring that changes the tone of the classroom.”

Zed and I will start in October and, hopefully, it will be a great experience for both us and the kids. A friend of mine did the program with her first child and I am really excited about doing it myself.

Oh, and finally, run don’t walk to see WALL-E. A fabulous movie. Probably my favorite Pixar movie ever.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Diaper Dude

  1. Glad to hear about the progress of the family. I can just hear the babe saying, years in advance, “My middle name is Lever.”

  2. Keith Usher

    It’s great to see baby doing well. Chloe is standing and ready to walk soon.

    I loved WALL•E also. really cool.

    keith

Leave a Reply

